Chapter 5- Listen To the Children

Sometimes God will give you dreams, and when you wake, you KNOW it’s a different thing than your normal, run-of-the-mill dreams. These are for many, many different reasons.  I have had ones that were warnings to pray, ones that tell me something’s coming, and ones that immediately correct my behaviour. My husband has had at least one that was confirmation of something God had told me minutes before that was very hard for me to believe. In telling me his dream, he used a very specific and unusual word that was the exact subject of my previous minutes of very private, silent conversation with God. I wake every day excited to see the fulfillment of what He has said to me, and pray like crazy every time He brings a warning dream to my memory again. They are powerful!

I had a dream just a couple years ago, in which God told me to clean out my ears so that I could “hear the children better”. In the first half of the dream I tried two methods that didn’t work, and then a third that was successful.

In the second part, I was crawling out along a narrow ridge line- it seemed both like the ridge-cap on the roof of a house, and the knife-like ridge on top of a sand dune. I had with me a device like an internet router, or some type of signal amplifier, to install there to amplify the childrens’ signal so they could be heard. Seems strange, but upon waking I knew I had received a very powerful and solemn order.

I work at a school around many children, and the charge given to me in that dream has come back to my many, many times. Stop. Listen. Give the small individual speaking my FULL attention. If a response is required (and it isn’t always) then let it be guided by wisdom and what is truly “good” for them. Be ready to amplify and repeat that signal they give me, and get it out there so they can be heard.

Children are under attack right now. They really always have been, because there is nothing… absolutely NOTHING that the enemy loves to do more than spoil and steal the few, brief hours of childhood they have. If he can steal peace and dump fear on them, steal playfulness and give them torment and tears and pain… he will do that, and has been focusing on that more than ever in the last few decades. It’s time that we STOP him from doing that to the kids in our area of authority. I can’t rescue a little one across the world, but I have been given the mandate to listen to the ones in my care, my area of responsibility, and then do- faithfully- whatever He tells me to do next. It might be different in each case, and for each child, but… if the Sovereign God of the universe told me to do it (and He did)… what good might happen if I do what He asked in the dream? Anything!! Anything good and wonderful and rescuing might happen! Because He’s literally not bad at this stuff, and He NEVER wastes His time or Words. And so I walk through my day as aware as my memory and the Holy Spirit prompt me to be. In between times I pray to be sensitive and quick to stop and listen, and also for the strength to do whatever is required next. One life at a time, one situation at a time, one relationship at a time- that’s How He moves His amazing rescue through the world: person to person.

If you’ve never had a dream that you woke from knowing that God specifically crafted for you, ask Him to give you one. And keep asking, persistently. All through scripture God has spoken to people in dreams and visions, so it’s not an outrageous request. Plus any exchange between Him and us is always a plus and a bonus! And the Word says that in the last days (now) He has always intended to pour a larger quantity of His spirit out over all the people on the planet, so this is the time to get in and swim! This is both our greatest opportunity, and will be the time of our greatest need. If you thought what has happened in the last few years was difficult and scary, well… more and darker things are coming. I don’t say that to frighten you- we win! He wins! But. We’ve not had to rely on Him ever before like we will have to coming up shortly. Close to Him there will be plans and excitement and the thrill of finally finding out what we were made for! Every inch of distance away from Him, while maybe not an immediate drop into hell, will absolutely be dangerous and dark, unpleasant and confusing. Snug up against Him, and you will be GLAD! So glad. You can lean in right next to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment